Talentcrowd operates as a digital talent platform — providing employers with pipelines of highly vetted senior-level technology talent and on-demand engineering resources. We're tech agnostic and cost-competitive.

About Health Level Seven (HL7)

Health Level Seven (HL7) is a set of international standards for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information. It is a framework for the exchange of healthcare data between different healthcare information systems, ensuring that the data can be shared and understood consistently across various systems and organizations. HL7 standards are widely used in healthcare IT to facilitate interoperability and data exchange.

Key features and aspects of HL7 include:

  1. Data Exchange: HL7 standards define the structure and format of healthcare data, enabling the exchange of patient records, lab results, clinical notes, and other health-related information.

  2. Interoperability: HL7 standards promote interoperability between different healthcare applications and systems, allowing healthcare providers, hospitals, clinics, and other organizations to share data seamlessly.

  3. Versioned Standards: HL7 has multiple versions of its standards, with each version addressing evolving healthcare needs and technological advancements. Common versions include HL7 v2.x and HL7 FHIR (Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources).

  4. HL7 v2.x: This is the traditional, well-established HL7 standard that uses a message-based approach. It defines specific message formats for different types of healthcare data, and messages are typically exchanged using protocols like HL7 version 2.x. This standard has been widely used for decades.

  5. HL7 FHIR: FHIR is a modern standard that focuses on a RESTful, resource-based approach to data exchange. It is designed to be more flexible, scalable, and developer-friendly, making it suitable for modern healthcare applications and mobile health (mHealth) initiatives.

  6. Clinical Data: HL7 standards cover various types of clinical data, including patient demographics, laboratory results, clinical orders, medication lists, and more.

  7. Healthcare Messaging: HL7 defines message standards for healthcare transactions, such as admission, discharge, and transfer (ADT) messages, observation messages, and many others.

  8. Standards Development Organizations (SDOs): HL7 standards are developed and maintained by organizations like Health Level Seven International (HL7), which is a global authority on healthcare standards.

Use cases for HL7 standards include:

  • Electronic Health Records (EHRs): HL7 standards enable the sharing of patient records and clinical data among healthcare providers using different EHR systems.

  • Laboratory Information Systems: HL7 is used to transmit lab results and test orders between laboratories and healthcare providers.

  • Health Information Exchange (HIE): HL7 facilitates the exchange of health information across different healthcare organizations within a region or state.

  • Telemedicine and Remote Monitoring: HL7 standards play a role in the exchange of data for telehealth and remote patient monitoring applications.

  • Medical Device Integration: HL7 standards help connect and integrate data from medical devices, such as monitors and infusion pumps, with EHRs and other clinical systems.

HL7 continues to evolve to meet the changing needs of the healthcare industry, and it plays a crucial role in improving healthcare data interoperability, patient care, and healthcare system efficiency.

Ask Question
Do You Have a Question?
We’re more than happy to help through our contact form on the Contact Us page, by phone at +1 (858) 203-1321 or via email at
Need Short Term Help?

Hire Talent for a Day

Already know what kind of work you're looking to do?
Access the right people at the right time.

Elite expertise, on demand